Best-X Roundup

Best Pet Emergency Kits, Scored Against the Ready.gov Checklist

By EmergencyPetPrep Editorial · Updated

Short answer: Pick by household, but every pre-made kit here holds 72 hours of food and water, short of the CDC's 2 weeks (PetMD says the same for dogs). Plan to add food, water and medication yourself.

EmergencyPetPrep is reader-supported: links on this page may earn us a commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. We don't sell products or take sponsorships, and commissions never touch how picks are ranked. How we choose →

Researched and written with AI assistance from the published sources listed at the end of this page. We are not veterinarians, no veterinarian has reviewed this page, and we do not test products by hand, so check those sources and talk to your own vet about your animal. How we work →

Key takeaways

  • Each of the four pre-made kits here is built around 72 hours of food and water. The CDC recommends 2 weeks per animal (PetMD says the same for dogs), so a kit covers 3 days of the 14 the CDC recommends.
  • None of the four kits lists a flea, tick or heartworm preventative supply, which CDC's checklist names. You add it yourself, along with any medication.
  • The Pet Evac Pak Cat & Dog kit is the only one built to carry supplies for a cat and a dog in one bag. Ready America's cat kit handles sanitation with a litter pan, litter and scoop instead.
  • Both Ready America kits include a soft-sided nylon carrier rated for pets up to 25 lbs. The Pet Evac Pak kits are backpack-style and include no separate carrier.
  • The ASPCA Animal Poison Control Center number is (888) 426-4435, available 24/7, and a consultation fee may apply. Write it on a card and keep it in the kit.

No pre-made pet emergency kit is a complete answer, and the gap is time. All four kits here are built around a 72-hour food and water supply. The CDC recommends two weeks (PetMD says the same for dogs), the ASPCA’s Evac-Pack list says 7-10 days of food, the AVMA lists 3-7 days, and Ready.gov asks only for several days. Buy a kit for the carrier, first-aid basics or sanitation gear it includes, then add the food, water and medication yourself.

Pet Evac Pak and Ready America are trademarks of their respective owners; EmergencyPetPrep is not affiliated with or endorsed by either.

Which Kit for Whom

What a Complete Pet Emergency Kit Needs

Ready.gov’s pet kit list includes:

  • Food, several days’ supply in an airtight, waterproof container
  • Water, several days’ supply, plus a water bowl
  • Medicine, an extra supply of whatever your pet takes (Ready.gov puts no day count on it)
  • A first aid kit
  • A collar with an ID tag and a harness or leash, plus a backup leash, collar and ID tag
  • Documentation: copies of registration information and other relevant documents, in a waterproof container and available electronically
  • A traveling bag, crate or sturdy carrier, ideally one for each pet
  • Grooming items, such as pet shampoo and conditioner
  • Sanitation supplies: pet litter and litter box if appropriate, newspapers, paper towels, plastic trash bags, household chlorine bleach
  • A picture of you and your pet together, to document ownership if you are separated
  • Familiar items: favorite toys, treats or bedding, to reduce your pet’s stress
  • Two kits total: one larger kit for sheltering in place, one lightweight kit for evacuation

The other authorities set tighter numbers:

  • ASPCA: 7-10 days of food, at least 7 days of bottled water per pet, and a 2-week supply of any medication. Our per-dog water math breaks the daily water figure down by body weight.
  • AVMA: 3-7 days of food, at least 7 days of water, and a two-week supply of medicine, kept in an easy-to-carry, waterproof container near an exit. It also asks for an emergency contact list with your veterinarian and pharmacy, including addresses and 24-hour numbers if available.
  • CDC: a 2-week supply of food, water and any medications per animal, plus a 1-month supply of flea, tick and heartworm preventative. None of the four kits here lists a preventative.
  • PetMD (veterinarian-reviewed) gives the same two-week figure for dogs as the CDC.

No single number emerges: the range runs from Ready.gov’s “several days” to the CDC’s two weeks. We reconcile the four authorities in our duration standard table. Both Pet Evac Pak and Ready America state the 72-hour duration plainly on their product pages, so treat every kit here as a starting point, not a finished plan.

How These Picks Were Judged

EmergencyPetPrep does not sell kits or take sponsorships, and did not pack, carry or field-test any of the four kits below. The picks come from spec-and-evidence analysis: every claim about contents, dimensions, weight and duration comes from the manufacturer’s own product page or from the health authorities above. Where a manufacturer does not publish a number, the page says so. No customer-review data is used, and commissions do not affect the ranking.

How many kits does your household need? Ready.gov’s list calls for a carrier or crate for each pet, and food, water and medicine scale per animal, so a two-pet home either buys two kits or doubles what is inside one. Only the Pet Evac Pak Cat & Dog kit is built for two animals in one bag, within its stated weight limits. For the per-animal math beyond that, see our multi-pet emergency planning hub and multi-pet go-bag math guide.

Quick Picks

ProductPickPrice tierJump to review
Pet Evac Pak Cat & Dog Emergency KitBest for Multi-Pet HouseholdspremiumRead review ↓
Pet Evac Pak Big Dog Emergency KitBest for Dogs 30-70 lbspremiumRead review ↓
Ready America Cat Evacuation KitBest Kit With a Carrier Included (Cats)midRead review ↓
Ready America Small Dog Evacuation KitBest Kit With a Carrier Included (Small Dogs)midRead review ↓

Price levels are our own editorial bands as of , not live Amazon prices. Check the product links for current pricing.

Pet Evac Pak Cat & Dog Emergency Kit

Pet Evac Pak · Premium

Best for Multi-Pet Households
SpecValueSource
Pet capacityCats up to 22 lbs / dogs up to 40 lbsspec sheet ↗ (opens in a new tab)
Backpack dimensions17 in H x 12 in W x 5.5 in Dspec sheet ↗ (opens in a new tab)
Total weight~10.7 lbs (171 oz)spec sheet ↗ (opens in a new tab)
Food/water durationUp to 72 hoursspec sheet ↗ (opens in a new tab)
Food/water shelf lifeNot published on this kit's product pagespec sheet ↗ (opens in a new tab)

Pros

  • The only kit here that packs food and bowls for both a cat and a dog in one bag
  • Includes a structured first-aid pouch (wound dressing, stretch bandage, hydrogen peroxide spray, cold pack, tweezers) beyond what either Ready America kit lists
  • Includes a collapsible litter box plus 2 lbs of litter, covering the sanitation item on the ASPCA and AVMA checklists

Cons

  • A 72-hour food and water supply is well short of the 2 weeks the CDC recommends
  • Premium price tier
  • No flea, tick or heartworm preventative is listed, a CDC checklist item
  • The product page gives no food and water shelf-life figure, so there is no manufacturer number to plan a rotation against

The most checklist-complete single kit here, largely because it is the only one covering two species and including real first-aid and sanitation gear. It is also the most expensive, and it still buys three days of food and water. Our pet evacuation kits hub covers the mixed-household angle in depth.

Check price on Amazon → (opens in a new tab)

Prices/availability change: levels shown are editorial estimates, not live prices. Links may earn us a commission.

Pet Evac Pak Big Dog Emergency Kit

Pet Evac Pak · Premium

Best for Dogs 30-70 lbs
SpecValueSource
Pet capacityDogs 30-70 lbsspec sheet ↗ (opens in a new tab)
Backpack dimensions17 in H x 12 in W x 5.5 in Dspec sheet ↗ (opens in a new tab)
Food/water durationUp to 72 hoursspec sheet ↗ (opens in a new tab)
Total weight~9 lbs (144 oz)spec sheet ↗ (opens in a new tab)
Food/water shelf lifeManufacturer targets as close to 5 years as possible; not a flat guaranteespec sheet ↗ (opens in a new tab)

Pros

  • Dogster's veterinarian-reviewed first-aid-kit roundup lists it as its Premium Choice pick
  • Three 8 oz dog-food packages and two 34 oz bowls, against the multi-pet kit's two dog packages and four 12 oz bowls; the water allotment is the same 12 pouches in both
  • Same structured first-aid pouch as the multi-pet version, and unlike that kit it states a food and water shelf-life target

Cons

  • Still only a 72-hour supply against the 2-week benchmark from CDC and PetMD
  • Backpack carry only, with no crate or carrier included, so it does not cover the Ready.gov traveling bag, crate or carrier item on its own
  • The manufacturer states shelf life only as a target (shipment within 90 days of manufacture, as close to 5 years as possible), softer than the flat 5-year figures the Ready America kits state

The dog-only counterpart to the multi-pet pick, sized up for larger breeds, with the same first-aid strength and the same 72-hour ceiling. Pair it with a separate crate if you need one for sheltering, not just evacuation carry.

Check price on Amazon → (opens in a new tab)

Prices/availability change: levels shown are editorial estimates, not live prices. Links may earn us a commission.

Ready America Cat Evacuation Kit

Ready America · Mid-range

Best Kit With a Carrier Included (Cats)
SpecValueSource
Model number77100spec sheet ↗ (opens in a new tab)
Carrier dimensionsapprox. 9.5 in x 15 in x 10 inspec sheet ↗ (opens in a new tab)
Carrier type and ratingSoft-sided nylon carrier, rated for pets up to 25 lbsspec sheet ↗ (opens in a new tab)
Package weight5.3 lbs (the aaa.readyamerica.com listing gives 7.80 lbs)spec sheet ↗ (opens in a new tab)
Food/water duration3-day (72-hour) emergency essentialsspec sheet ↗ (opens in a new tab)
Food/water shelf life5 years (manufacturer-stated)spec sheet ↗ (opens in a new tab)
Prop 65 disclosureCalifornia Prop 65 warning present (chemical exposure including lead); the same warning appears on Ready America's Small Dog kitspec sheet ↗ (opens in a new tab)

Pros

  • Includes a litter pan, litter and scoop, covering the sanitation item on the ASPCA, AVMA and Ready.gov checklists
  • Comes with a carrier, covering the Ready.gov traveling bag or carrier item without a separate purchase
  • Mid price tier, lower than the Pet Evac Pak multi-pet kit, with comparable checklist breadth for a single cat

Cons

  • Only one 8 oz cat food unit and three 4.225 oz water pouches, a thin allotment even within the 72-hour framing
  • The included carrier is soft-sided nylon rated only to 25 lbs, not a rigid crate, so it is carry gear rather than a sheltering crate
  • The contents list names no documentation pouch or waterproof records folder, unlike Pet Evac Pak's ID card holder

The strongest all-in-one option here if a carrier and a litter setup are your priority, but its food and water allotment is the thinnest of the four kits, tied with the Small Dog kit. The contents list includes a collar and an ID tag but no leash, so the Ready.gov backup leash item is still on you.

Check price on Amazon → (opens in a new tab)

Prices/availability change: levels shown are editorial estimates, not live prices. Links may earn us a commission.

Ready America Small Dog Evacuation Kit

Ready America · Mid-range

Best Kit With a Carrier Included (Small Dogs)
SpecValueSource
Model number77150spec sheet ↗ (opens in a new tab)
Total weight7.8 lbs (the aaa.readyamerica.com listing gives 5.30 lbs)spec sheet ↗ (opens in a new tab)
Carrier dimensionsapprox. 9.5 in x 15 in x 10 inspec sheet ↗ (opens in a new tab)
Carrier type and ratingSoft-sided nylon carrier, rated for pets up to 25 lbsspec sheet ↗ (opens in a new tab)
Food/water duration3-day emergency essentialsspec sheet ↗ (opens in a new tab)
Food/water shelf life5 years (manufacturer-stated)spec sheet ↗ (opens in a new tab)
Tie-out leash length15 ft in Ready America's product summary and on aaa.readyamerica.com; the Description tab on the same readyamerica.com product page says 10 ftspec sheet ↗ (opens in a new tab)

Pros

  • Includes a tie-out leash Ready America lists at 15 ft, useful for a temporary shelter or camp scenario the other kits do not address (the Description tab on the maker's page says 10 ft)
  • Comes with a carrier, covering the Ready.gov traveling bag or carrier item
  • Same 5-year manufacturer-stated food and water shelf life as the Ready America cat kit

Cons

  • The product name says "Small Dog" with no weight range; the only size figure Ready America publishes is the carrier's 25 lb rating, so treat that, not the label, as the ceiling
  • Same thin food and water allotment as the cat kit: one food unit, three water pouches
  • The contents list includes an ID tag and the tie-out leash but no collar or harness, so it only partly covers the Ready.gov collar-with-ID item
  • Carries the same California Prop 65 warning for chemical exposure including lead as the cat kit

A reasonable starting kit for a small dog, with a carrier and a long tie-out leash, but the 25 lb carrier rating and thin food supply mean you should supplement it. Check your dog against the carrier rating before buying, since "Small Dog" on the label is not a measurement.

Check price on Amazon → (opens in a new tab)

Prices/availability change: levels shown are editorial estimates, not live prices. Links may earn us a commission.

Coverage-Gap Table: What Each Kit Covers vs. the Checklist

This table scores each kit against Ready.gov’s checklist items, with one added row for the CDC’s flea, tick and heartworm preventative.

Checklist item Pet Evac Pak Cat & Dog Pet Evac Pak Big Dog Ready America Cat Kit Ready America Small Dog Kit
Food & water (2-week target) 72-hour supply only 72-hour supply only 72-hour supply, thin allotment 72-hour supply, thin allotment
Medicine (ASPCA/CDC: 2-week supply) Not included Not included Not included Not included
First aid kit Structured pouch included Structured pouch included Basic contents, per manufacturer listing Basic contents, per manufacturer listing
Collar/ID + backup leash 2 ID tags + 2 slip leads ID tag + slip lead Collar and ID tag, no leash listed ID tag + tie-out leash, no collar listed
Documentation storage Waterproof ID card holder Waterproof pouch for documents and medication Not specified Not specified
Carrier or crate Backpack carry, no separate carrier Backpack carry, no separate carrier Soft-sided carrier, rated to 25 lbs Soft-sided carrier, rated to 25 lbs
Grooming items Not specified Not specified Pet wipes included Pet wipes included
Sanitation supplies Collapsible litter box, litter, waste bags Waste disposal bag roll only Litter pan, litter, scoop 6 waste bags only
Owner+pet photo slot Not specified Not specified Not specified Not specified
Familiar items (toys/treats/bedding) Rope toy + cat toys Large rope toy Treats + collar with toy mouse Rawhide bone + chew rope
Flea/tick/heartworm supply (CDC) Not included Not included Not included Not included

“Not specified” or “not included” means the manufacturer’s product page does not list the item. If you buy any of these kits, plan to add a 2-week medication supply if your pet takes one, a preventative supply, grooming basics, and your own printed and digital vet records. That is the gap between what a commercial kit ships at this price point and what the full checklists ask for.

Multi-Pet Households: Where One Kit Is Not Enough

The Pet Evac Pak Cat & Dog kit is the only product here built to serve two species from one bag, with food, bowls and supplies sized for a cat up to 22 lbs and a dog up to 40 lbs. For one cat and one dog under those limits, it comes closest to full contents coverage, even with the 72-hour ceiling.

Past two animals, or past those weight limits, a single kit stops being the right tool. Two Ready America kits, one per pet, give you two carriers, though only the cat kit brings a litter setup, and you now manage two separate 72-hour supplies and two documentation gaps. For scaling supplies, carriers and grab-order priority across three or more pets, see our multi-pet go-bag math guide.

Poison Exposure: Who to Call

If a pet swallows something toxic during an emergency, call the ASPCA Animal Poison Control Center at (888) 426-4435. The ASPCA’s site says it is available 24/7, and that a consultation fee may apply. You can also call your veterinarian. The ASPCA says to call if you think your pet may have swallowed a poisonous substance. Follow the poison line’s or your veterinarian’s instructions rather than treating it at home. None of the kits’ contents lists includes this number, so write it on an index card and keep it inside whichever kit you buy.

Carrier Safety: What Kit Carriers Are Not Rated For

Both Ready America kits ship with the same carrier: soft-sided nylon, rated by Ready America for pets up to 25 lbs. Carrier crash-safety certification is voluntary. The Center for Pet Safety says that participation in its certified program is a voluntary commitment by the manufacturer to meet independently developed safety standards, and that it does not accept funding from pet product manufacturers.

Neither Ready America kit’s product page claims a Center for Pet Safety certification, and as of September 29, 2026, neither kit appeared on the CPS certified list. If you need a carrier validated for vehicle travel, check that as a separate spec before you buy. Our best cat evacuation carriers page is the place to start.

Prop 65 Warning on the Ready America Kits

Both Ready America product pages carry the same California Proposition 65 warning for chemical exposure, including lead. It applies to both kits, so it does not single one out. Prop 65 warnings appear on a wide range of consumer goods. If it concerns your household, read the manufacturer’s disclosure before buying.

Building on What You Buy

Treat a pre-made kit as the fastest way to cover a carrier, first-aid basics and (for the Ready America kits) sanitation gear in one purchase. Then add what is missing: a real 2-week food and water supply, your pet’s actual medications, printed and digital copies of vaccine records, and a preventative supply if your vet has your pet on one. Our DIY pet go-bag checklist walks through building the fuller kit item by item if you would rather build than buy.

Want the full go-bag list on paper to check your kit against? Get the free printable go-bag checklist.

Whichever kit you choose, it starts aging the day it is packed. Food and water reach their dates, medication expires, and batteries go flat in a bin. Our pet emergency kit rotation checklist sets the monthly, seasonal and yearly intervals that keep it current.

Frequently asked questions

What should be in a pet emergency kit?

Ready.gov's list covers food and water in airtight, waterproof containers, medicine, a first aid kit, a collar with ID tag and a leash or harness plus backups, copies of documents, a carrier for each pet, grooming items, sanitation supplies, a photo of you with your pet, and familiar items. It recommends two kits: a larger one for sheltering in place and a lightweight one for evacuation.

How many days of food should a pet emergency kit have?

The CDC recommends a 2-week supply of food, water and medication per animal, and PetMD gives the same figure for dogs. The ASPCA's Evac-Pack list says 7-10 days of food and at least 7 days of water. The AVMA lists 3-7 days of food. Every pre-made kit here is built around 72 hours, below all of these figures.

Do pre-made pet evacuation kits cover the Ready.gov checklist?

Partly. These kits cover several Ready.gov items out of the box, such as first aid basics, some sanitation supplies, and a carrier in the Ready America kits. They fall short on food and water duration, medication supply and document storage, and none lists a flea, tick or heartworm preventative. The coverage-gap table below goes item by item.

What is the best emergency kit for multiple pets?

Of the four kits here, the Pet Evac Pak Cat & Dog Emergency Kit is the only one built to hold food, bowls and supplies for both a cat and a dog in one bag. For larger households, our multi-pet go-bag math guide shows how to scale supplies instead of buying one kit per pet.

How long do pet emergency kits last on the shelf?

The manufacturers' own pages give different answers. Both Ready America kits state a 5-year shelf life for their packaged food and water. Pet Evac Pak's Big Dog page promises shipment within 90 days of manufacture and aims for as close to 5 years as possible. Its Cat & Dog page gives no shelf-life figure. Mark a replace-by date either way.

What should I do if my pet eats something poisonous during an emergency?

Call the ASPCA Animal Poison Control Center at (888) 426-4435, available 24/7 (a consultation fee may apply), or your veterinarian as soon as you think your pet may have swallowed something poisonous. Follow their instructions rather than treating it at home.

Free checklist

Get the printable pet go-bag checklist by email

A one-page, print-ready go-bag checklist grouped by Ready.gov, ASPCA, AVMA, CDC and Red Cross categories, with a link to the full guide for per-animal quantities. One email to confirm it's you, then the checklist, the binder templates and occasional new guides. Unsubscribe any time.

Submitting this form starts your email signup. We send a confirmation link first, and only clicking that link subscribes you. See our Privacy Policy for what we collect and how long we keep it.

Sources

We are not veterinarians, and we would rather you check these than take our word for anything. These are the sources this page relies on. For your own animal, your vet is the expert, not this page.

  1. Ready.gov: Prepare Your Pets for Disasters (pet kit checklist, two kits) (opens in a new tab)
  2. Ready.gov: Pet Preparedness (printable PDF of the same guidance) (opens in a new tab)
  3. ASPCA: Disaster Preparedness (Evac-Pack list: food, water, medication supply) (opens in a new tab)
  4. ASPCA: Animal Poison Control (24/7 phone number, consultation fee) (opens in a new tab)
  5. AVMA: Pets and Disasters (evacuation kit, emergency contact list) (opens in a new tab)
  6. AVMA: Pet Evacuation Kit Checklist (PDF) (opens in a new tab)
  7. CDC: Build a Pet Disaster Preparedness Kit (2-week supplies, 1-month preventative) (opens in a new tab)
  8. PetMD: What To Pack in Your Dog Emergency Kit (2-week supply for dogs) (opens in a new tab)
  9. Pet Evac Pak: Cat & Dog Emergency Kit (manufacturer product page) (opens in a new tab)
  10. Pet Evac Pak: Big Dog Emergency Kit (manufacturer product page) (opens in a new tab)
  11. Ready America: Cat Evacuation Kit (manufacturer product page) (opens in a new tab)
  12. Ready America: Small Dog Evacuation Kit (manufacturer product page) (opens in a new tab)
  13. Ready America: Cat Evacuation Kit (second listing; carrier type and 25 lb rating) (opens in a new tab)
  14. Ready America: Small Dog Evacuation Kit (second listing; carrier type and 25 lb rating) (opens in a new tab)
  15. Dogster: Best Dog First Aid Kits 2026 (veterinarian-reviewed roundup) (opens in a new tab)
  16. Center for Pet Safety: CPS Certified (certified products list and program terms) (opens in a new tab)