Buying Guide

The Minimalist Pet Emergency Kit for a Small Apartment

By EmergencyPetPrep Editorial · Updated

Short answer: The ASPCA and AVMA give no target weight for a pet go-bag. The AAP's 15% figure is for a child's backpack; use it only as a rough ceiling, and keep bulk water at home.

EmergencyPetPrep is reader-supported: links on this page may earn us a commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. We don't sell products or take sponsorships, and commissions never touch how picks are ranked. How we choose →

Researched and written with AI assistance from the published sources listed at the end of this page. We are not veterinarians, no veterinarian has reviewed this page, and we do not test products by hand, so check those sources and talk to your own vet about your animal. How we work →

Key takeaways

  • A small-apartment kit has to fit a closet and, if you leave on foot, be light enough to carry. Build it around packed size and carry weight, using ASPCA and AVMA supply guidance.
  • The ASPCA and AVMA give no target weight for a pet go-bag. The nearest reference is the American Academy of Pediatrics: a child's backpack shouldn't exceed 15% of body weight. That is child guidance, so treat it as a rough adult ceiling only.
  • Water, not gear, blows the weight budget. A gallon weighs about 8.3 pounds and the ASPCA wants at least seven days per pet. Store the full supply at home and, as our suggestion, carry one to two days plus a refill plan on foot.
  • Three picks do the space work: a collapsible bowl 4-pack, a soft-sided carrier that measures 17 by 11 by 10.5 inches per Sherpa's size chart (Sherpa publishes no folded size), and roll-up compression bags for bulky bedding.
  • Compression bags shrink volume, not weight. A squeezed blanket takes less closet space but weighs the same on your back, so storing a kit and carrying it are two separate problems.

A small-apartment pet emergency kit has to do two things: store in a closet, and stay light enough to carry on foot with the animal. The ASPCA and AVMA give no target weight for a pet go-bag. The closest reference is the American Academy of Pediatrics’ 15% of body weight limit for a child’s backpack, which is child guidance, so use it only as a rough ceiling and count the pet if you carry it. Keep bulk water at home and carry only a day or two of it.

In a small apartment your storage is a closet shelf and the clearance under your bed, and you may have no car. If an evacuation comes on foot, the whole kit must be light enough to carry alongside the animal for however far you walk.

Brand names below are trademarks of their respective owners; EmergencyPetPrep is not affiliated with or endorsed by any of them.

The two problems a standard kit list skips

A kit stored in a garage and moved by car has room to spare. A small-apartment kit has two limits instead.

The first is storage volume. A hard crate, a rigid food bin, and a stack of towels eat closet space you do not have. The fix is picking gear by its collapsed size, not just by whether it does the job.

The second is carry weight. If your exit is on foot, because the road is gridlocked, you do not own a car, or the walk to a pickup point is long, the kit becomes a load on your back and shoulder while your other hand manages the pet. Our guide to carrier backpack versus sling for evacuating on foot covers how you carry the animal. This page covers everything else you carry.

The two problems pull in different directions. Compressing a blanket helps storage and does nothing for weight. Cutting your water to what you can lift helps weight and does nothing for the closet. Solve each one separately.

How much should a pet evacuation bag weigh?

The ASPCA and AVMA give no target weight for a pet go-bag. AVMA’s guidance is qualitative: it says to keep the kit in an “easy-to-carry, waterproof container close to an exit”, with no number on “easy to carry.”

The nearest published figure is backpack guidance written for children. The American Academy of Pediatrics says a child’s backpack shouldn’t weigh more than 15% of the child’s body weight. That is not a pet rule, and it is not written for adults. Applying it to an adult carrying a pet kit is our own extension, offered only as a rough ceiling.

Body weight (our extension of the AAP figure) 15% carry ceiling
120 lb 18 lb
150 lb 22.5 lb
180 lb 27 lb

A pet go-bag differs from a school backpack in one way: the ceiling has to cover the animal too if you carry it. Carry a 12 lb cat in a sling and a 20 lb supply bag and you are at 32 lb, past the ceiling in the table for all three body weights. Keep the supply bag well under the ceiling, because the pet uses part of the budget.

Water is what blows the weight budget

A gallon of water weighs about 8.3 pounds, and the ASPCA recommends at least seven days of bottled water for each person and pet. A multi-day supply for one or more pets adds up quickly, which is why a full supply cannot ride on your back. The practical split:

  • Store the full seven-day water supply at home, for sheltering in place or a vehicle evacuation where weight is not the limit.
  • Pack one to two days of water plus a refill plan in the on-foot bag. That is our suggestion for what you can carry the distance, not an authority figure.

Our pet food and water emergency storage guide covers the full-supply side.

The core the kit still has to contain

Minimalist does not mean skipping categories. It means choosing each one in its most compact form. The authority baseline does not change:

  • Food: the ASPCA calls for 7-10 days of canned pop-top or dry food per pet, rotated every two months. AVMA’s number is 3 to 7 days. Pack to the ASPCA figure at home and trim to a few days in the on-foot bag.
  • Water: at least seven days per pet at home (ASPCA), one to two days in the carry bag, per the weight math above.
  • Bowls: one for food and one for water; AVMA lists a collapsible dish.
  • Medication: the ASPCA calls for a two-week supply of any medicine your pet requires, in a waterproof container.
  • Carrier: ideally one per pet (ASPCA), labeled with your contact information (AVMA).
  • ID and leash: collars with ID tags (ASPCA), plus an extra collar or harness and an extra leash (ASPCA, AVMA).
  • Documents: photocopies or a USB copy of medical records (ASPCA), with medication instructions (AVMA).
  • One comfort item: a familiar blanket or toy to lower stress.

For the full sourced list with per-animal quantities, see our DIY pet go-bag checklist. Everything below is about making that list fit a closet and a pair of shoulders.

The space-saving swaps

Three swaps turn a house-sized kit into an apartment-sized one. Specs come from each maker’s or seller’s listing; EmergencyPetPrep has not tested these products.

The bowl. A rigid stainless bowl is stable and never gets smaller. A collapsible bowl folds down, which matters when food and water bowls share a bag with everything else. The Guardians collapsible 4-pack lists a 12 fl oz capacity and a size of about 5.1 by 3.6 by 2.2 inches, four to a pack. Twelve ounces is a serving size, not water storage. The multi-day supply lives in its own container.

The carrier. A hard crate takes up closet space every day of the year. A soft-sided carrier is the swap. The Sherpa Original Deluxe Medium is soft-sided with mesh panels for ventilation, fits pets up to 16 pounds, and measures 17 by 11 by 10.5 inches, all per Sherpa’s own product page and size chart. Sherpa publishes no folded dimension and makes no fold-flat claim for it. The one structural give the maker describes is a patented spring wire frame that lets the rear end be pushed down several inches to fit under an airplane seat. That is a fit feature, not a storage figure.

It carries on a detachable shoulder strap, the format you want if an exit may be on foot, and Sherpa’s page makes no crash-protection claim. Size your shelf to 17 by 11 by 10.5 inches. Above 16 pounds you need a larger carrier or a hard crate, and the storage math changes; our soft-sided versus hard-sided carrier comparison covers that fork.

The bulky soft goods. The biggest space hog in most kits is the soft stuff: a spare blanket, towels, the comfort blanket. Roll-up compression bags squeeze those down with no pump, machine, or power. The ALMING 10-pack states in its listing title that no vacuum or pump is needed, and its listing says to roll the bag to force the air out. That matters in an apartment, where a vacuum sealer is one more device to own, store, and power.

The compression bags have two limits. First, roll-up compression is moderate: VacBird, which also sells pump bags, lists roll-up compression as moderate and pump compression as maximum. Second, compressing something saves volume, not weight. A squeezed blanket takes less closet space and weighs the same on your back. Use compression for storage, and do not expect it to lighten your carry.

Quick Picks

ProductPickPrice tierJump to review
Collapsible TPE Travel Bowls, 4-Pack with Carabiner ClipCollapsible Bowl for a Compact KitbudgetRead review ↓
Sherpa Original Deluxe Travel Pet Carrier (Medium)Soft-Sided Carrier for Closet StoragemidRead review ↓
Compression Bags, 10-Pack (No Pump Needed)No-Pump Space Saver for Bulky Soft GoodsbudgetRead review ↓

Price levels are our own editorial bands as of , not live Amazon prices. Check the product links for current pricing.

Collapsible TPE Travel Bowls, 4-Pack with Carabiner Clip

Guardians · Budget

Collapsible Bowl for a Compact Kit
SpecValueSource
Capacity per bowl12 fl oz / 1.5 cupsspec sheet ↗ (opens in a new tab)
MaterialFlexible material, 100% lead-freespec sheet ↗ (opens in a new tab)
Size (per listing)5.1 x 3.6 x 2.2 in (13 x 9 x 5.5 cm)spec sheet ↗ (opens in a new tab)
Pack count4 bowls per packspec sheet ↗ (opens in a new tab)

Pros

  • Listed as collapsible, at a size of 5.1 x 3.6 x 2.2 in, so a set of food and water bowls should take little room in a closet-stored kit
  • Four bowls in one pack covers a multi-pet household, or food-and-water pairs
  • The listing says lead-free and dishwasher safe

Cons

  • 12 oz is small next to a large dog's daily water need, so it is a serving bowl; the multi-day water supply lives in a separate container
  • The listing describes flexible material and says the bowls suit small to medium dogs and cats, so a large dog may tip one
  • The ASPCA lists feeding dishes and water bowls and AVMA lists a collapsible dish; collapsing saves space but is not required

A bowl for a space-first kit: it covers the bowl line item on the ASPCA and AVMA lists (AVMA names a collapsible dish) and is listed as collapsible. Treat the 12 oz capacity as a serving size and keep the multi-day water elsewhere.

Check price on Amazon → (opens in a new tab)

Prices/availability change: levels shown are editorial estimates, not live prices. Links may earn us a commission.

Sherpa Original Deluxe Travel Pet Carrier (Medium)

Sherpa · Mid-range

Soft-Sided Carrier for Closet Storage
SpecValueSource
Dimensions (Medium)17 in L x 11 in W x 10.5 in H assembled, per Sherpa's own size chartspec sheet ↗ (opens in a new tab)
Weight capacity (Medium)Up to 16 lbs, per Sherpa's own size chart (Small 8 lbs, Large 22 lbs)spec sheet ↗ (opens in a new tab)
FrameSherpa states a patented spring wire frame lets the rear end of the carrier be pushed down several inches to fit under airplane seatsspec sheet ↗ (opens in a new tab)
Folded/collapsed dimensionsNot published. Sherpa's product page makes no fold-flat, flat-storage or collapsible claim for this carrier, so size your shelf or under-bed clearance to the assembled 17 x 11 x 10.5 in figurespec sheet ↗ (opens in a new tab)
Materials and airline programSoft-sided with mesh panels for ventilation (Sherpa does not state how many), escape-proof locking zippers, a waterproof interior base, and a removable machine washable liner; part of Sherpa's Guaranteed On Board programspec sheet ↗ (opens in a new tab)

Pros

  • Sherpa calls it a soft-sided carrier, which may let it give against other items on a shelf, unlike a molded hard crate
  • Soft-sided with a detachable shoulder strap and integrated metal D-rings, the format you want if an evacuation might be on foot rather than by car
  • Satisfies the AVMA and ASPCA carrier line item for a cat or small dog and doubles as a normal travel and vet-trip carrier the rest of the year

Cons

  • Weight-limited to 16 lbs at Medium; a larger dog needs a bigger carrier or a hard crate, which changes the storage math
  • Sherpa's page makes no crash-protection claim; see our soft-versus-hard carrier comparison before relying on it in a vehicle
  • Sherpa publishes no folded dimension and makes no fold-flat claim, so budget the full 17 x 11 x 10.5 in from its size chart for storage

A soft-sided carrier for a cat or small dog up to 16 lbs that carries on a shoulder strap. Plan the shelf around its 17 x 11 x 10.5 in size, and choose a different carrier or crate if your pet is heavier than the Medium's ceiling.

Check price on Amazon → (opens in a new tab)

Prices/availability change: levels shown are editorial estimates, not live prices. Links may earn us a commission.

Compression Bags, 10-Pack (No Pump Needed)

ALMING · Budget

No-Pump Space Saver for Bulky Soft Goods
SpecValueSource
Pack count10 bags per packspec sheet ↗ (opens in a new tab)
Compression methodRoll the bag to force air out through a one-way valve; the listing title says no vacuum or pump is neededspec sheet ↗ (opens in a new tab)
Compression level (roll-up vs pump)VacBird, which also sells pump bags, lists roll-up compression as moderate and pump compression as maximum, in exchange for needing no equipment or powerspec sheet ↗ (opens in a new tab)
Individual bag dimensionsThree sizes per the listing: 4 small (20 x 14 in), 3 medium (20 x 16 in) and 3 large (24 x 16 in); measure your storage spot before you rely on a fitspec sheet ↗ (opens in a new tab)

Pros

  • No pump, machine, or power needed, so it works in a closet or during an outage
  • Shrinks the bulkiest items in a kit: a spare blanket, towels, the comfort blanket
  • Reusable, so you can re-roll after a gear check instead of replacing the bag

Cons

  • The squeeze buys closet space and never a lighter load: a compressed blanket packs smaller yet weighs the same when you pick the bag up
  • VacBird, a seller of pump bags, rates roll-up compression as moderate against maximum for pump bags
  • A general travel product, not pet-specific, and never a food container; keep kibble in pop-top cans or an airtight food container

A closet-storage aid: it squeezes bulky soft goods down with no equipment. It saves shelf space and takes nothing off your carry weight, and food stays out of it.

Check price on Amazon → (opens in a new tab)

Prices/availability change: levels shown are editorial estimates, not live prices. Links may earn us a commission.

A word on vacuum-sealing food

Vacuum-seal bags can keep food compact, but they have caveats. A machine-sealed bag has to be re-sealed with that machine every time you open it, and the ASPCA wants stored food rotated every two months, so you would be re-sealing on a schedule. Sealing reduces the food’s air, not its weight. Pop-top cans or dry food, both of which the ASPCA lists, kept in an airtight resealable container (our suggestion), avoid adding a countertop appliance. The compression bags above are for soft goods only: the listing presents them for clothes and travel, not food.

How to store it in a closet

Compact gear only helps if the kit lives somewhere you can grab it. AVMA says to keep the kit close to an exit. In an apartment that usually means a front-hall closet, a shelf by the door, or one labeled bag under the bed nearest your exit route.

  • Measure before you buy. Check shelf depth and under-bed clearance first. Use a carrier’s listed dimensions unless the maker publishes a folded size. Sherpa does not.
  • One bag, one home. Keep the whole kit together in a single grab-able bag, not scattered across three rooms.
  • Separate the heavy overflow. The full multi-day water and shelter-in-place food reserve does not belong in the grab bag. Store it nearby, separately, so what you carry out stays light and what you shelter with stays complete.
  • Label it. AVMA says to label the carrier with your contact information. A tag on the bag with your pets’ names and your phone number is our addition.

If you rent and have no car or yard, our pet evacuation plan for renters covers transit, rideshare, buddy-system, and stairwell logistics, and our renter-specific emergency kit guide goes deeper on small-space assembly. For a list tailored to your own animals, the free pet emergency kit builder generates one sized to your pets and your biggest hazard.

Where to go next

This page is the small-space, on-foot spoke of our broader pet evacuation kits pillar. Pair it with the DIY pet go-bag checklist for the full contents list, carrier backpack versus sling for evacuating on foot for carrying the animal, and the soft-sided versus hard-sided carrier comparison if your pet is near the soft-carrier weight ceiling.

This week, weigh your packed kit on a bathroom scale with the water you plan to carry in it, and add your pet’s weight if you would carry the animal. If the total runs past the ceiling you set, move water out of the carry bag and into home storage.

Want the go-bag list on paper? Get the free printable go-bag checklist.

Frequently asked questions

How much should a pet evacuation bag weigh?

The ASPCA and AVMA give no target weight. The closest benchmark is the American Academy of Pediatrics rule that a child's backpack shouldn't weigh more than 15% of the child's body weight. Applying it to an adult is our own extension: for a 150 pound adult, 15% is 22.5 pounds, and the ceiling has to cover the pet too if you carry it in a sling or pack. Water usually pushes a bag over, so the full multi-day supply stays home.

What goes in a minimalist pet emergency kit for a small apartment?

The same categories every authority lists, in compact form. The ASPCA calls for 7-10 days of food per pet and at least seven days of water. AVMA wants an easy-to-carry, waterproof container near an exit. That means a collapsible bowl, a soft-sided carrier, dry food or pop-top cans stored airtight, medication in a waterproof pouch, records, a leash and a backup, and one comfort item. Store bulk water separately.

How do I store a pet go-bag in a small apartment with no garage?

Pick gear by its stored size and give the kit one grab-able home near your door, as AVMA advises. The Guardians bowl listing gives a size of 5.1 by 3.6 by 2.2 inches and calls the bowls collapsible; it does not state a folded thickness. The Sherpa Original Deluxe Medium measures 17 by 11 by 10.5 inches per Sherpa's size chart and has no published folded size, so measure your shelf against that figure. Roll-up compression bags shrink blankets and towels.

Can I vacuum-seal my pet's food to save space in the kit?

You can, with caveats. A machine-sealed bag has to be re-sealed with that machine each time you open it, and the ASPCA recommends rotating stored food every two months. Sealing shrinks air volume, not weight. Pop-top cans or dry food, both of which the ASPCA lists, kept in an airtight resealable container (our suggestion) are simpler. Do not use a clothing compression bag as a food container; its listing presents it for clothes and travel.

Is a soft carrier or a hard crate better for a small-apartment evacuation kit?

For storage and carrying on foot, a soft carrier is the easier fit. The Sherpa Original Deluxe Medium is soft-sided, rides on a detachable shoulder strap, and fits pets up to 16 pounds per Sherpa's size chart. Sherpa does not describe it as folding flat, and its page makes no crash-protection claim. Our soft-versus-hard carrier comparison covers the tradeoff.

Free checklist

Get the printable pet go-bag checklist by email

A one-page, print-ready go-bag checklist grouped by Ready.gov, ASPCA, AVMA, CDC and Red Cross categories, with a link to the full guide for per-animal quantities. One email to confirm it's you, then the checklist, the binder templates and occasional new guides. Unsubscribe any time.

Submitting this form starts your email signup. We send a confirmation link first, and only clicking that link subscribes you. See our Privacy Policy for what we collect and how long we keep it.

Sources

We are not veterinarians, and we would rather you check these than take our word for anything. These are the sources this page relies on. For your own animal, your vet is the expert, not this page.

  1. ASPCA: Disaster Preparedness (food, water, medication, carrier and ID supply guidance) (opens in a new tab)
  2. AVMA: Pets and disasters (easy-to-carry kit near an exit, carriers) (opens in a new tab)
  3. American Academy of Pediatrics (HealthyChildren.org): Backpack Safety (15% of body weight guidance) (opens in a new tab)
  4. Amazon: Collapsible Dog Bowls 4-Pack (Guardians brand) product page (capacity, size, pack count) (opens in a new tab)
  5. Sherpa: Original Deluxe Travel Bag Pet Carrier product page (size chart and construction) (opens in a new tab)
  6. Amazon: Sherpa Original Deluxe Travel Pet Carrier (Medium) product page (opens in a new tab)
  7. Amazon: ALMING Compression Bags 10-Pack (No Pump) product page (pack count, hand-roll method) (opens in a new tab)
  8. VacBird: Roll-Up vs Pump Vacuum Bags: Which Is Better for Travel? (roll-up compression level) (opens in a new tab)